What Years Were the Victorian Era?

Updated: January 23, 2023
The Victorian era is the period of Queen Victoria's reign, from 20 June 1837 until her death on 22 January 1901.
Detailed answer:

The Victorian Era is the period of Queen Victoria’s reign, from 20 June 1837 until 22 January 1901. It is often divided into three smaller periods: the Early Victorian era, the Mid-Victorian era, and the Late Victorian era. The era follows the Georgian period and precedes the Edwardian period, and its later half overlaps with the Belle Époque era of Continental Europe.

The Victorian era was a time when Britain was ruled by Queen Victoria. She was queen for 63 years, longer than any other British monarch. The word “Victorian” has come to mean traditional values, particularly those related to family life and personal morality.

It was also a time when Britain was expanding its empire around the world through colonization and trade.

The Victorian age saw the height of the British Industrial Revolution, which saw significant advances in manufacturing and production technology. It also saw the advent of mass-produced goods and electricity as a major source of power. The Victorian era had much social reform, including legislation to improve working conditions for many workers; however, there was no legislation to regulate wages or hours worked per week.

Victoria ascended to the throne at a time when Britain was still considered an imperial power; however, it was during her reign that Britain lost all its colonies except for India, Egypt, and South Africa. She died on 22 January 1901 and was succeeded by Edward VII who ruled until 1910 when he died.

What Years Were the Victorian Era?. (2023, Jan 23). Retrieved from https://graduateway.com/qa/what-years-were-the-victorian-era/