Seven Deadly Sins

* Pride- An over high opinion of oneself; exaggerated self-esteem; conceit, arrogance, vanity, self-satisfaction. * Lust- Lust is the self-destructive drive for pleasure out of proportion to its worth. Sex, power, or image can be used well, but they tend to go out of control. * Greed- Excessive desire for acquiring or having; desire for more than one needs or deserves. * Envy-Envy resents the good others receive or even might receive. Envy is almost indistinguishable from pride at times.

Wrath- A strong feeling excited by a real or supposed injury; often accompanied by a desire to take vengeance, or to obtain satisfaction from the offending party; resentment; wrath. * Gluttony-One who eats too much. One with a great capacity for anything. * SLOTH: Disinclination to action or labor; sluggishness; habitual indolence; laziness, idleness; slowness; delay. According to Charles Panati, a Greek monastic theologian Evagrius of Pontus first drew up a list of eight offenses and wicked human passions:

We will write a custom essay sample on
Seven Deadly Sins
or any similar topic specifically for you
Do Not Waste
Your Time

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.

More Essay Examples on Pride Rubric

They were, in order of increasing seriousness: gluttony, lust, avarice, sadness, anger, acedia, vainglory, and pride. In the late 6th century, Pope Gregory the Great reduced the list to seven items, folding vainglory into pride, acedia into sadness, and adding envy. His ranking of the Sins’ seriousness was based on the degree from which they offended against love. It was, from most serious to least: pride, envy, anger, sadness, avarice, gluttony, and lust.

Later theologians, including St. Thomas Aquinas, would contradict the notion that the seriousness of the sins could be ranked in this way. In the seventeenth century, the Church replaced the vague sin of “sadness” with sloth. Comparison between the Seven Deadly Sins and the Ten Commandments * I am the Lord your God: You shall not have strange Gods before me. (Wrath, Greed, Sloth, Pride, Lust, Envy, Gluttony) * You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain. Wrath, Greed, Pride, Lust, Envy) * Remember to keep holy the Lord’s Day. (Sloth) * Honor your father and mother. (Could be any of them particularly Sloth, Wrath, Greed, Pride and Envy) * You shall not kill. (Wrath) * You shall not commit adultery. (Lust) * You shall not steal. (Greed) * You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. (Wrath, Envy) * You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife. (Envy) * You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods. (Envy)

Haven’t Found A Paper?

Let us create the best one for you! What is your topic?

By clicking "SEND", you agree to our terms of service and privacy policy. We'll occasionally send you account related and promo emails.

Haven't found the Essay You Want?

Get your custom essay sample

For Only $13/page

Eric from Graduateway Hi there, would you like to get an essay? What is your topic? Let me help you