Get help now

The Five Pillars of Faith



  • Pages 5
  • Words 1249
  • Views 481
  • Can’t find relevant credible information

    Let our experts help you

    Get help now

    The Five Pillars of Faith
    In analyzing the Five Pillars, this paper will examine why they are called the Pillars of Islam. This paper will discuss and break down these pillars, and what ways they provided their lifestyles, and moral basis for their people. Discussing the practices of Christian groups that have a lifestyle and moral basis for the many people of Christianity will also be proposed. Let this article begin with the Pillars of Islam. First, what Islam is understood to mean is obedience to Allah, which the Muslims do every day of their lives. These Pillars of Islam exhibits the Muslim’s show of divine guidance, also these Pillars of Faith shows the evident signs that the Muslims has yielded to the power of Allah. Practicing of these Pillars is like Christians praying every day for our praise to Yahweh. These Pillars of Faith were five standards that Muslims are expected to praise and submit to Allah, which can be contrasted to a home with a sound basis with a reliable foundation.

    This house has a reliable basis and five supporting pillars, which these Pillars help in building their spiritual growth (The Five Pillars of Islam, (2013). Hadith (sole Islam doctrine) is what the Pillars talk about in the law. Pillars consist of: Shahadah (proclamation of faith), Salah (five mandatory prayers/day), Zakah (yearly welfare donations), Sawm (fasting during Ramadan), Hajj (journey to Mecca), and (Five Pillars of Islam, (2013). Next, analyzing these five will show their importance. The first, Shahadah, which was the most, applied of the Five due to the Pillars being the Muslims proclamation of faith. Muslims do this out of belief in their hearts and shows it in the works of their lives. This was so valuable to the Muslims for it is the first word utter to a newly born child, and the last thing they say before death. There is Salah (mandatory prayers), which were taught by Allah on how it should be done, and is said in Arabic language. This prayer is to remind the Muslims to remember Allah. Zakah (welfare donations), which is obligated act of worship by the Muslims. If one wants to be a Muslim, one has to pay Zakah. To give willingly will show their moral and spiritual growth. Swam is a fasting that happens every year when it starts from sun up till sun down. This is a fasting of all food and water, smoking and sex, and these Muslims are expected to pray, and read the Qur’an. The aim of this Sawm is to make sure their centralize views were towards their obedience. Hajj, the last of the Five Pillars are “to set out a definite purpose,” by traveling to Mecca happens the least of all. There are some similar positions between the Ten Commandments and the Five Pillars of Islam that shall be discussed at this time. The First Pillar would seem to cover the first two of the Ten Commandments, which suggest that when an individual bears witness there is no Yahweh except Allah.

    This seems to show that the Muslims are keeping up with the first two commandments of the Ten. In comparing the moral similarities of the commandments to the Five Pillars of Islam, it is unique because the Jews and Christians believe this to be the inner core of moral codes. These Five Pillars of Islam depicts the center beliefs that form Muslim’s thought, deed, and society. These Five Pillars are declarations of faiths, praying five times a day, tithing, fasting, and journey to Mecca, which like the Ten Commandments are willfully bonded by all members. It can be said that these two faiths relate in the concept that these are set religious and civil rules. There will be comparisons of Christian’s and Islam’s views on Yashua, prayer, and salvation. The Quran taught the Muslims, in salvation, to believe that their respectable deeds that they have done throughout their life will be weighed and judged on Judgment Day. The Quran talks of individuals that do a lot of good deeds shall be rewarded by going to heaven or paradise. It does not specify “how many” respectable deeds one needs to perform in order to go to heaven (Quran 7:7; 23:102,103). As far as, what the Bible says about salvation is, “salvation is by the grace of our Father for those individuals who believe in the precious name of Yashua which can be referenced in Ephesians 2:8, 9. Yashua will be the other belief comparison that will be contrasted with the Christians and Islam’s beliefs. In Yashua as far as the Muslims would say is that there is no son of Allah, and if someone say so, it is a lie (Quran 4:107). In Christianity, Yahweh spoke from His voice from heaven, “This is my Son, whom I love; with Him I am pleased,” (Matthew 3:17). In John 3:16 quotes another verse stating that Yashua is His Son. Muslims give credence to Allah he will judge all of mankind according to their great deeds. Yahweh is perfect, and will not allow any imperfections around Him so, Yashua died on the cross for our sins so, we will be accepted by a perfect Yahweh (Romans 3:21-26). In prayer, Muslims prays five times a day, and their prayers are facing the city of Mecca, Saudi Arabia, where Muhammad’s births spot is according to Quran.

    The Muslims utters the same phrases and Quran passage five times a day. Yashua instructed all his followers to reflect in Yahweh, and spoke to Him as their “heavenly Father.” In Matthew 6 teaches Christians how and where to pray, and not to add too many words to prayer. These three main groups of Christianity came about because of the different geographical divisions in Europe on language barriers. Catholics were the original Latin-talking west, and the Greek-talking east. They broke off as the Catholic Church in the western part of Rome, and the Orthodox Church on the eastern half, which included Jerusalem, Antioch, and Constantinople. Protestant was a split from the Latin Church, which talked about the subject of forgiving. Islam is broken up into three groups. These groups of Islam are Sunni, Shia, and Sufi.

    The Sunni group came about from the standard version of Islam, and while Shia was a spin-off the spiritual branch of Islam. Sunni are worried about going down the right pathway (good deeds) to get your gifts from Yahweh, and these gifts are the rewards that you retain in the after-life. Sufi convictions in sacred love, and seeks Yahweh directly by purifying the heart and soul of all earthly goods. This would be an example of Christians asking forgiveness of their sins through Yashua’ precious name, in which one could say Sufism and Christianity are similar in those aspects. Conclusion

    This essay compared the ideas of Yashua, Prayer, and Salvation fundamental credence of Christianity and Islam. Analyzed the roles of the Five Pillars, and compared them with the Ten Commandants. Explained how they (the Christian and Islam groups) came about and what they believe in their beliefs. This essay compared and analyzed the six groups of the Christian and Islamic religion in a well discussed manner.

    Reference Life Application Study Bible, International Version. p. cm. Includes indexes I.
    Tyndale House Publisher. II. Title BS195.N37 1997 220.5 2814 – dc21 The Five Pillars of Islam. (2013). In The Hutchinson Encyclopedia. Retrieved from

    The Five Pillars of Faith. (2016, Jul 11). Retrieved from

    Hi, my name is Amy 👋

    In case you can't find a relevant example, our professional writers are ready to help you write a unique paper. Just talk to our smart assistant Amy and she'll connect you with the best match.

    Get help with your paper