How Many Gods are There in Ancient Greece?

Updated: January 07, 2023
The ancient Greeks believed in a pantheon of gods and goddesses. There were twelve main Olympian gods, as well as numerous minor gods and goddesses.
Detailed answer:

The Olympians were the 12 major gods of Ancient Greece. They lived on Mount Olympus, in a golden palace, each with his or her own wife and children.

The Olympians were also known as “the Twelve Gods” (Dodekatheon) or “the Twelve Great Gods.” They represent a combination of nature deities and ancient Greek heroes who are credited with founding many of Greece’s cities. In some accounts they are even considered to be sons or daughters of Zeus by other goddesses such as Demeter or Mnemosyne.

The Olympians were: Zeus, Poseidon, Hades, Demeter, Aphrodite, Hermes, Ares, Dionysus, Apollo, Athena, Hera, and Artemis. They were the children of Gaia (Earth) and Uranus (Sky). The Titans were also their brothers and sisters.

Each god and goddess was believed to have their own specific domain or area of influence. For example: Zeus was king of all the gods; Poseidon ruled over the sea; Hades governed the underworld; Demeter was associated with agriculture and fertility; Aphrodite was the goddess of love; Hermes was messenger between gods and men; Ares was god of war; Dionysus was god of wine and fertility; Apollo was god of music and prophecy (he also had control over plague); Athena was patroness of learning and warfare (she had been born from Zeus’s head); Hera ruled over marriage while Artemis watched over animals and childbirth.

The ancient Greeks also believed in a wide variety of other supernatural beings, such as nymphs, satyrs, and centaurs.

How Many Gods are There in Ancient Greece?. (2023, Jan 07). Retrieved from