How Many Levels of Hell In Dante’s Inferno?

Updated: November 28, 2022
There are 9 circles of hell in Dante's Inferno.
Detailed answer:

There are 9 circles of hell in Dante’s Inferno. Each circle is reserved for a different type of sinner and the punishments they receive.

The first circle of hell is Limbo, where the unbaptized and virtuous pagans reside. The second circle is Lust, where the lustful are tormented by their own desires. The third circle is Gluttony, where gluttons are forced to eat mud and sand. The fourth circle is Greed, where greedy people are made to push around giant rocks in an attempt to fill a hole in a mountain. The fifth circle is Anger, where those who committed violence against others while they were alive are tortured by demons with whips and swords until they become lumps of bloody flesh. The sixth circle is Heresy, where heretics are punished for their denial of God’s existence or His power over mankind’s lives. The seventh circle is Violence against God (Blasphemy), where souls who blasphemed God during their lifetime are hung upside down from trees with snakes wrapped around their necks. The eighth circle — Fraud — is for those who committed fraud against others while they were alive; here, sinners are entwined among thorny bushes that constantly tear at them as they move through space. Finally, the nineth is Bestiality.

How Many Levels of Hell In Dante’s Inferno?. (2022, Nov 25). Retrieved from