What is the European Union?

Updated: January 23, 2023
The European Union is an economic and political union of 27 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The EU has a single market and a customs union.
Detailed answer:

The membership of the EU has grown from six countries in 1957 to 27 today.

The European Union was established in 1993 by the Treaty on European Union (Maastricht Treaty). The Maastricht Treaty created the European Union and was signed by the leaders of 12 member states on 7 February 1992. It entered into force on 1 November 1993 when it had been ratified by all members of the European Community. On 1 November 1993, the Maastricht Treaty became law and the European Union officially came into existence.

The 27 member states of the EU are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.

The EU is not a country but rather a loose confederation of nations with common goals, including maintaining peace and stability, stimulating economic growth and creating jobs on both sides of the Atlantic, forging an ever closer union among the peoples of Europe while respecting their ancient identities, strengthening the protection of human rights, and promoting freedom, security, justice, and solidarity.

The EU consists of three main institutions: The European Commission (the executive branch), the Council (representing national governments) and the Parliament (representing citizens). There are also several other bodies that play an important role in its work.

What is the European Union?. (2023, Jan 23). Retrieved from https://graduateway.com/qa/what-is-the-european-union/