When Was Northeastern University Founded?

Updated: June 09, 2023
Northeastern University was founded in 1898. It is a private research university in Boston, Massachusetts.
Detailed answer:

Northeastern University was founded by the Congregational Society of Boston and opened its doors to students on October 29, 1898. The University has been named one of the top 30 universities in the world for producing Fulbright Scholars and Peace Corps volunteers, as well as one of the most environmentally responsible colleges in America by Newsweek magazine. It was a non-denominational Christian institution until 1908 when it became nonsectarian and coeducational. It became independent from the Congregational Church in 1937.

University’s main campus sits on 42 acres of land near the Financial District in downtown Boston. The university hosts more than 50 research centers and institutes, including the Center for Wireless Networks and Mobile Computing, which is one of the largest research centers in wireless networking.

Northeastern is a member of NCAA Division I-A’s Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) and won the 2010 CAA Football Championship with a win over Richmond at home.

In addition, Northeastern University has eight colleges including: College of Arts & Sciences; D’Amore-McKim School of Business; Bouvé College of Health Sciences; College of Professional Studies; College of Computer and Information Science; College of Engineering; College of Education and Social Policy; College of Interdisciplinary Studies (CIS). The university’s faculty includes 13 members of national academies, three Nobel Prize winners and 12 MacArthur Fellows. Northeastern has also produced several Fulbright Scholars.

Cite this page

When Was Northeastern University Founded?. (2023, Apr 23). Retrieved from