Get help now

Introduction for “Piaget – Stages of cognitive development”

  • Pages 2
  • Words 325
  • Views 555
  • dovnload



  • Pages 2
  • Words 325
  • Views 555
  • Academic anxiety?

    Get original paper in 3 hours and nail the task

    Get your paper price

    124 experts online

    Swiss Psychologist Jean Piaget ( 1896-1980 ) proposed the thought of the four phases of childhood cognitive development. These are age-related phases and refer to certain achievements that should be achieved. by the kid. at the terminal of each phase.

    The first phase of cognitive development is the Sensorimotor phase. which lasts from birth to around two old ages of age. During this phase. kids learn to organize their senses ( hearing. sight. touch etc. ) with their motor abilities. From two to seven old ages is the Pre-operational phase. Children of this age become capable of more sophisticated thought. The Concrete operational phase stopping points from about seven old ages of age to about 12. These kids put together what they have already learnt. with cognition gained from new experiences. The concluding phase of cognitive development identified by Piaget. is the Formal operational phase. This lasts from twelve old ages of age onwards. Peoples in this phase are capable of more complex idea procedures.

    During the Concrete operational phase ( 7 to 12 old ages ) . kids should develop an apprehension of the rule of preservation. Conservation refers to the thought that if an object alters its form or visual aspect. its volume. mass. length or country will non alter. A kid with an apprehension of preservation should be able to believe logically and see that these qualities have non changed. even if they appear to hold done so. Accomplishment of preservation of mass can be demonstrated with two little balls of Plasticine. A kid is shown the Plasticine and agrees that the balls are the same size. One of the balls is so squashed down. A pre-concrete operational kid will likely make up one’s mind that the ‘squashed’ ball is bigger. while a kid at the Concrete operational phase should admit that they are still the same weight or mass. This illustrates the ability of the kid to understand how the object has changed. non merely see the beginning and stop consequence.

    This essay was written by a fellow student. You may use it as a guide or sample for writing your own paper, but remember to cite it correctly. Don’t submit it as your own as it will be considered plagiarism.

    Need a custom essay sample written specially to meet your requirements?

    Choose skilled expert on your subject and get original paper with free plagiarism report

    Order custom paper Without paying upfront

    Introduction for “Piaget – Stages of cognitive development”. (2016, Dec 08). Retrieved from

    Hi, my name is Amy 👋

    In case you can't find a relevant example, our professional writers are ready to help you write a unique paper. Just talk to our smart assistant Amy and she'll connect you with the best match.

    Get help with your paper
    We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy