Get help now

Erikson’s Timeline

  • Pages 2
  • Words 409
  • Views 312
  • dovnload



  • Pages 2
  • Words 409
  • Views 312
  • Academic anxiety?

    Get original paper in 3 hours and nail the task

    Get your paper price

    124 experts online

    Erik Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development lays out eight stages of life through which individual’s progress from birth to death. The eight stages of life are infancy, early childhood, childhood (play age), childhood (school age), adolescence and young adulthood, young adulthood, mature adulthood, and old age. The stage that I think that I am currently in would have to be stage six; young adulthood. The psychosocial issue with young adulthood is intimacy versus isolation. The central question posed during this stage is how can I love?

    I was actually stuck on this stage and the next stage, but I have decided on this one. I have many close friends with personal relationships and I am also in a love relationship to where I married three years ago. I got married young so I am still in the process of figuring out what love is. Being in this marriage gave me a better understanding of what it is. Being married is the first step to the next step which would be mature adulthood. The only thing that is keeping me from this stage would probably be that I do not have any kids and in my opinion, that stage would be best for when I have kids.

    I have a friend who is in stage seven; the mature adulthood stage. The psychosocial issue in this stage is generativity versus stagnation or self- absorption. The central question posed during this stage is how can I fashion a gift? The prototype for generativity is raising children and that is exactly what she is doing. She is raising her children and being a good and caring parent. Erikson argued that many adults fulfill their basic “need to be needed” and directly promote the next generation (Erikson, 1963). I agree with this.

    Once the parent has fulfilled their needs, they will be in stage eight, which is old age. Erikson’s eight stages of life help shows where people are in their life. When looking at these eight stages, it made me really think about my life and how I have grown older and learned more throughout my short life so far. I have accomplished many things and even though I feel like I am growing too fast, I am not. It is just the process of life and people either go through the stages fast or slow. It is just up to them and what they want to do with their lives.

    This essay was written by a fellow student. You may use it as a guide or sample for writing your own paper, but remember to cite it correctly. Don’t submit it as your own as it will be considered plagiarism.

    Need a custom essay sample written specially to meet your requirements?

    Choose skilled expert on your subject and get original paper with free plagiarism report

    Order custom paper Without paying upfront

    Erikson’s Timeline. (2017, Jan 20). Retrieved from

    Hi, my name is Amy 👋

    In case you can't find a relevant example, our professional writers are ready to help you write a unique paper. Just talk to our smart assistant Amy and she'll connect you with the best match.

    Get help with your paper
    We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy