Get help now

Erik Erikson’s Adulthood Stages

  • Pages 2
  • Words 400
  • Views 653
  • dovnload



  • Pages 2
  • Words 400
  • Views 653
  • Academic anxiety?

    Get original paper in 3 hours and nail the task

    Get your paper price

    124 experts online

    Overall they are eight stages developed by Erikson. Three of the stages are known as young adulthood, middle adulthood, and late adulthood. As a reminder, Erikson’s view on the stages is about possible development and challenges to humans that can occur again in their future. These stages really help understand what humans may confront in their path and can also lead to obtain a strong mindset. Yong Adulthood Young adulthood is measured form age 18 to 35 years. At this stage young adults are familiar with love and pain. We tend to search for right companions so where identities may blend in or in other words fit in with a relation.

    Thou, rejection are a possibility from friends or from partners breaking up with us. This is what concerns young adults, rejection is a pain and not everyone can bare it. Erikson believes that once humans have established some kind of identity they will be ready to make a long term commitment to others. Chances of marriage are high and have a stronger friendship with others. Middle Adulthood The second stage of adulthood is middle adulthood which is range from age of 35 to 65 years. Erikson observed that in this stage we are more occupied and may also have children with a role of being in charge.

    Caring is a virtue while in this stage as well which strength comes from caring of others and a motivation to production of something that can contribute to society. This is described as generativity, in this stage we fear inactivity and meaninglessness. Another role for this stage could be to pass or carry on a legacy in relation to a child. Late Adulthood The final stage is late adulthood; it is from ages of 65 to death. It is known that in this stage humans are older and consider senior citizens where they slowdown their activities and productivity.

    At this point we look back our past and mark down all achieved accomplishments, by doing so we are able to develop integrity. To others they may see themselves unproductive or unachieved. Everyone has a different living; at the final stage Integrity or Despair is the wisdom to come or to face. Depending on the candidate including their past, accomplishments lead to integrity and unachieved goals lead to feelings of despair. Wisdom is strength with possibility of giving you the acceptance of death as a completion of life.

    This essay was written by a fellow student. You may use it as a guide or sample for writing your own paper, but remember to cite it correctly. Don’t submit it as your own as it will be considered plagiarism.

    Need a custom essay sample written specially to meet your requirements?

    Choose skilled expert on your subject and get original paper with free plagiarism report

    Order custom paper Without paying upfront

    Erik Erikson’s Adulthood Stages. (2016, Oct 02). Retrieved from

    Hi, my name is Amy 👋

    In case you can't find a relevant example, our professional writers are ready to help you write a unique paper. Just talk to our smart assistant Amy and she'll connect you with the best match.

    Get help with your paper
    We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy