Psychology In The Sandlot

Read Summary

The Sandlot provides examples of two prominent theories in psychology: Erikson’s theory of psychological development and Kohlberg’s theory of moral development. Erikson’s theory consists of seven stages of development, with a focus on ego identity that evolves throughout life and is shaped by internal conflicts or struggles. The movie shows examples of the fourth and fifth stages, where children need to cope with new social and academic demands and develop a sense of self. Kohlberg’s theory breaks development into three levels of two stages each, with examples in the movie showing pre-conventional, conventional, and observational morality. Scotty shows pre-conventional morality when he is upset about punishment, and Benny displays observational morality when he climbs the fence, even if it is not advisable, because he believed it was the right thing to do.

Table of Content

Psychology in the Sandlot Erosion’s theory of of psychological development looks at development throw GHz the entire lifespan. It consists of seven stages: infancy, early childhood, preschool, school age, adolescence, young adulthood, middle adulthood, and maturity. Erikson focus sees on an idea called ego identity, the conscious sense of self that we develop through social interaction. According to Erikson our ego identity continually evolves throughout our lives.

His theory also offers to a “psychological crisis”, an internal conflict or struggle that must be o overcome. The movie The Sandlot shows examples of the fourth stage, where children need t o cope with new social and academic demands, and fifth stage, where children develop a sense of self. Scotty has to cope with making friends in a new neighborhood. He gets pulled into a sport that he knows next to nothing about and; consequently, has to learn how to play. He also has to try to build a relationship with his new stepfather.

Benny develops a sense of elf and gains confidence as the story progresses. Kohlrabies theory of moral development breaks development into three level s of two stages each. The first level is presentational morality, consisting of a stage w here infants base their morality on whether or not they are punished and a stage where c hillier act according to their needs. The second level, conventional morality, is comprise d of a stage focused on social approval and a stage where people focus on maintaining la w and order.

The third level, observational morality is composed of a stage where people account for differing values of others, and a stage where people apply their own ethics. In the sandlot there are a few examples of Kohlrabies theory. For example, Scotty shows pre conventional morality when he is upset about losing the ball because of the punishment he will receive. Scotty also shows conventional morality throughout the movie, attempting to conform. At the end of the movie Benny shows observational morality when he climbs the fence even though it is inadvisable, because he thought it was the right thing to do.

Cite this page

Psychology In The Sandlot. (2017, Jul 20). Retrieved from

Remember! This essay was written by a student

You can get a custom paper by one of our expert writers

Order custom paper Without paying upfront